Lazy

Lazy

Have you ever had one of those days/weeks/months where you just can’t seem to get in the groove of working out?  I worked out religiously every morning at 5:30 for more than 2 years.  I loved it.  Well, my husband would say I didn’t love it every morning at 5:00 when my alarm went off, but I did love how it made me feel afterward and the energy I would have throughout the day.  But then, life got in the way.  We moved to Tennessee and I struggled to find a good class to keep my motivation in the morning.  Is it just me, but does no one in East Tennessee like to workout at 5:30 am?

I have spurts of consistently getting up and making it to class.  And I have spurts of consistently getting up and going to the gym to do my own workouts.  But then I have spurts, like today, of sleeping through the alarm for HOURS and getting out of bed at the last possible minute to get to work on time.  When the laziness happens, I feel awful.  I get frustrated with myself and have a tendency to dwell in a defeated mood most of the day.

I fully believe in listening to your body and taking rest days.  I get that my body isn’t a machine and sometimes I just need a break.  But how do you toe the line between listening to your body and diagnosing laziness?  I want to give my body a pass when it needs one and take care of my health, but at the same time, in my mind I feel like I’m using rest as an excuse when I know I could have gotten up this morning, had a great workout and have felt better all day.

On a more positive not, tomorrow is always a new day, and I can go to sleep tonight with the best of intentions to make tomorrow exactly what I want it to be.

Leave a Reply

