Finding My Exercise Family

 

I miss my Charlotte workout family.  I have to admit, I was very spoiled in Charlotte.  I was a member of all Charlotte YMCAs and got into a fantastic routine of classes.  I had challenging workouts at my disposal daily, with fantastic instructors.  I was pushed to my limits, inspired and got in the best shape of my life.

I have struggled to find that same rewarding workout family in Knoxville.  For starters, the opportunities for morning group exercise are limited.  I’m guessing it’s because the base of morning exercisers just isn’t as large as Charlotte.  And, everything seems to be spread out around Knoxville.  So, if I go to a class on one side of town, I have to get up 20 minutes earlier to get there, workout, and then drive to another gym to shower.  It all eats up time and I hate being so inefficient in the mornings.

In an effort to kick my butt into gear this morning, I tried to take a bootcamp class.  It’s one of those types you have to pay about $20 a class for, but is supposedly worth it.  Unfortunately, I found it was definitely not what I thought I was signing up for.  Granted, it was pouring down rain this morning, so it may have been that this one data point was a bit haphazardly thrown together at the last minute, but all in all, it wasn’t that great of a workout.  It was running some suicides with planks, situps and squats thrown in.

I don’t know about you, but if I am going to pay $20 for an hour of working out, I want a well thought out program.  I also want a group of people that buckle down and workout hard – not complain the entire time.  Instead, today I got the thrown together exercise and whining hour.  Which is fine, if that’s what you’re into.  I’m just not.

whining

So now I  think I’m back to workouts all across town, multiple drives and early wake-up calls.  But I also think I will be peppering in some workouts I design for myself.  Any other suggestions for me?  How do you find a place to continue your fitness journey when moving to a new city?

Leave a Reply

