Weekend: Easter Puppy

Happy belated Easter!  We had a good weekend in Charlotte, visiting my parents and celebrating my friend’s 30th birthday.  It was a great weekend – my only wish was that the weather on Saturday would have been nicer.  It poured rain the entire day, which was hard because my parents have a 5 month old puppy, Shiloh.  As any puppy owner knows, puppies have tons of energy, so a day without a walk or play time outside is a day of rambunctious behavior in the house and a few more potty-training accidents than normal.

Shiloh

Shiloh, my parents’ puppy

Our dog, Bailey, did not get along very well with Shiloh, which is exactly what we were predicting.  Having had Bailey her entire life (she’s four now) we know that she does not really care for puppies.  She loves going to my parents’ house because generally she’s been the center of attention and she loves my mom.  But this weekend, she was very sulky and preferred a three-foot radius between her and the puppy.

Bailey hiding from a very interested Shiloh

Bailey hiding from a very interested Shiloh

Things got a little better as the weekend went on, but they never got very close to each other.

As good as it gets

As good as it gets

Yes, in case you are wondering, they are the same breed – Boykin Spaniels.

We got to Charlotte late Friday night.  On Saturday, we had my friend’s 30th birthday celebration, which included dinner at The String Bean, which was mediocre at best, and country dancing at a Charlotte staple: Coyote Joe’s.  After being stuck in the house all day, I was ready to get some exercise and dance!  Hubs and I had a great time dancing and basically acting like crazy fools on the dance floor 🙂

On Sunday, I got up early to take the dogs on a walk with my mom, then it was time for Easter Service at church and shrimp and grits brunch at home with my parents before taking the trip home.  It was an exhausting weekend, but I always enjoy a chance to go back home and see my friends and family.  Did you do anything special for Easter?

Leave a Reply

