Covering the Bases: Supplements

I have to admit: I used to be a supplement junkie.  I used to take a multivitamin, calcium, vitamin D, fish oil, all the things that I thought would make me the epitome of health.  When I felt a cold coming on, I would slam Emergency-C and Airborne like it was my job.  A little less than a year ago, I decided to back off on the supplementation and focus on just eating healthy, whole food.  I wiped the slate clean and started fresh.  Now, I have minimal supplementation.  Here’s what I’m taking these days:

fclo

1.  Fermented Cod Liver Oil.  This is my only fish oil supplement, and also provides a wealth of vitamins.  I started taking it after I had this problem with my hair falling out (it was crazy weird, only fell out in one place and was likely stress related).  I have found it to help my skin and hair.  Otherwise I don’t see much of a difference.  However, I continue to take just one dose per day (when I remember) because I think most of the health benefits are invisible.  Read here and here for more information on the benefits.

Collagen

2.  Collagen Hydrolysate.  This stuff is amazing, and one of the few supplements that I can tell an immediate difference with.  I stir one heaping spoonful into my coffee every morning – you can’t even taste it.  I can 100% tell a difference in my joints.  They feel supple and don’t cause me pain, which is a direct contrast to my life without this stuff.  See, I have a chronic hip problem, that will flare up on occasion.  It’s an old cross country injury coupled with genetically poor quality hips.  The Collagen Hyrdolysate helps restore the cartilage around my bones and keeps my joints supple.  It makes me feel so much better, and I hope it will keep my joints pain free for much longer than without it.

What do you supplement with?  Is there anything you think I should add?

Leave a Reply

