Weekend: Storms and Power Outages

Hello!  Sorry I am a bit delayed on the weekend update – we have been without power for a day, so it has really put stuff behind for me.  There were some bad storms that passed through eastern TN Sunday night, including three tornados.  As it came through our neighborhood, we had some trees down, that downed some power lines and made it a hot, sleepless night for us.

 

But, the end of the weekend was not indicative of the type of weekend we had – Hubs and I were highly productive this weekend.  On Saturday morning, we got up and Bailey and I headed to the farmers market downtown.  Check out my loot:

farmersmarket

Sorry, it’s not the greatest picture, but I cleaned up, with fresh corn, watermelon, blueberries, blackberries, swiss chard, spinach and some organic peanut butter treats for Bailey 🙂

 

Once we came home, I had a quick brunch and then headed to Barre3.  I took a free community class with an instructor in the process of getting her certification.  I have been to barre classes, but never to Barre3.  I loved the class – the Barre3 studio was very professional and they really put a lot of thought into class.  It was great.

 

Afterward, I headed to the pool to swim some laps.  It has seriously been about 5 years since I swam.  I even had to buy a new swimsuit.  But, ever since I helped out at the triathlon, I’ve been wanting to get into the pool, just to see how it felt.  The first few laps were super rough, but after I got back into the hang of it, I enjoyed the swim.  I am no where near being in swimming shape, but we all have to start somewhere.

 

Hubs and I had a low key night – he golfed most of Saturday afternoon, so we were both exhausted.  On Sunday, we worked on a bunch of house chores.  We settled down to some fantastic grilled homemade pizza and TV on Sunday evening.

grilled-pizza

Yum!  We had just finished eating when the power went out.  We headed to bed early because there really wasn’t anything else to do, and we were hoping we would wake up to the power being back on.  Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.  The storms got worse, it got hot and soon we were trying to figure out how we were going to get showered (the gym to the rescue) and how to get our cars out of the garage.  Fun times.  It makes me very thankful for regular power though 🙂

 

How was your weekend?

Leave a Reply

